The New South Wales Debating Union

NSW: The National Schools Debating Champions

In 2016, the NSW Schools Debating Team were Runners Up at the National Schools Debating Championship. NSW were defeated by Queensland in the Grand Final of the Championships in Sydney, affirming the topic ‘That employers should have access to the criminal recorsd of their employees’.

NSW can also boast two members of the Australian Schools Team. Eden Blair (also the Australian Team Captain) and Thomas Shortridge were selected into the national team on the back of their performances in Sydney.

We congratulate all the 2016 NSW team members for their stellar results! Congratulations and thanks must also go to their coaches, Emma Johnstone and Nick Chung.

We are looking forward to Nationals once again in 2017!


The New South Wales Debating Union (NSWDU) is an independent not-for-profit organisation that seeks to promote and develop high school debating in New South Wales.

NSWDU selects, coaches and manages the New South Wales Schools Debating Team, which competes at the National Schools Debating Championships every year. In the competition’s 42-year history, NSW has been the most successful state, having won the competition on 16 occasions and been runner-up on another 11 occasions. 

The coaches of the New South Wales Schools Debating Team for 2017 are Emma Johnstone and James Stratton.

NSWDU also holds workshops at schools across the state run by experienced debating adjudicators and coaches who offer their services on a voluntary basis.

NSWDU is an affiliate of the Australian Debating Federation.


This year the National Schools Debating Championships will be held in Brisbane from the 21st to the 28th of May.

Should you wish to get in touch with us, please do not hesitate to send us an email at the address on the left of this page.

Contact NSWDU

Please direct all inquiries to our email address:

For more information and updates on the trial process, please like our Facebook page: